Week: 11

Distance: 18 miles

At 6:00 PM last Sunday, I was ready to go for my long run.  My timing was very purposeful: it was late enough that the effects of my hangover from the night before were minimal, but early enough that I would be home in time for Curb Your Enthusiasm at 9:00 P.M (after the Palestinian chicken episode the week before, I knew I couldn’t settle for watching a later re-run).  At 18 miles, this was my longest run yet.  I was really counting on seeing my “friends” out on the road for encouragement.  By “friends”, I’m referring to the other regular runners who I often pass during my workouts, and with whom I have formed tacit relationships.  Just as I expected, they did not let me down.

Three miles in, I passed one of my closest friends, “the-old-guy-who-I-mutter-obscenities-with.”  Our relationship began during the heat wave that struck Chicago in early July (for New York readers, this was the same heat wave that hit you guys a week later, when the forecast read “Feels Like: 104 degrees”).  As I passed him during that blistering hot afternoon, feeling like I was literally about to pass out, I couldn’t help but exclaim, “Holy sh*t, it’s f***ing hot!”  The guy managed to display a hint of a smile and respond between gasps, “It’s f***ing brutal man!”  We’ve been friends ever since.  As we passed each other during the run currently being described though, it was relatively cool out and I was still feeling fresh.  We gave each other thumbs up and went our separate ways.

Around 5 miles later, I passed the man who I consider to be my best friend out on the road, “the-bald-dude-with-the-tan-line.”  I consider this guy my best friend not so much because he encourages me, but rather because I can’t help but laugh when I look at him.  This makes me forget that I’m running for a few moments.  Though I don’t see “the-bald-dude-with-the-tan-line” every day, I always know I will see him during my long runs on Sundays.  When I saw him for the first time a few weeks ago, I didn’t take much note of him.  He just looked like a really sunburned bald guy wearing a hat.  The next time I saw him though, his hat was off and I nearly stopped dead in my tracks.  The best way I can describe him is as a ‘reversed pig in a blanket’ (i.e. hot dog around the bread– the bread is his scalp, the hot dog is every other part of his body).  I had never seen anything like it!  I never saw him again with the hat on.  Each time I pass him now, I wonder if he’s not wearing his hat because he’s trying to get rid of the tan line.  I just wish I could say to him, “Give up man, you’re never gonna rid of that thing!”  As I passed him nearing the halfway point of this 18-mile run, my best friend unknowingly provided me with much-needed comedic relief.

However, I will most identify this run with a random confrontation when I look back on it.  With only 4 miles left, I was beginning to pick up my pace for a strong finish.  I was feeling surprisingly confident as I lengthened my strides.  My Morning Jacket’s “First Light” was blasting in my head for motivation.  Suddenly, a black SUV drove by.  A teenaged kid stuck his head out the window.  He wore dark sunglasses (though the sun had set by this point), and no shirt at all.  For a moment, we made eye contact.  Then, he shouted out, “NERD!” and sped awayI was shocked.  Why did this high school kid feel the need to put me down?  Was it my ankle socks?  The short shorts?  The fanny pack for running I bring on my long runs?  Shattered, I screamed out, “Why!?” hoping to find some explanation for the insult.  But he was gone.

I suppose one thing this story shows is the many different hardships runners face.  It’s more than just the physical stuff: strained muscles, shin-splints, chafing, etc.  Running involves many emotional hardships as well, something I learned first hand from my teenaged tormentor.  If I ever see him again (believe me, I’d recognize him if I saw him), I’ll be sure to get my revenge.