I’m Amy, the middle child. This means I am the most likely/entitled to be heard whining about the marathon training. Fortunately, in training for my first marathon, I’ve found certain perks. I get to eat things like lobster rolls and truffled macaroni and cheese (see only food images on this blog; also note these both were consumed on the same day).

To be fair,  training has also been a wonderful way to explore NYC, and particularly Brooklyn, where I live. So far, my training has taken me over the Brooklyn and Williamsburg Bridges, in Park Slope and Prospect Park, into Red Hook (home of BK’s Ikea, and apparently some good lobster rolls), along the Brooklyn Heights Promenade and into Dumbo. I’ve also enjoyed running on the boardwalk in Long Beach (home of Mindy and the aforementioned Shadow Levine). I’ve run in the middle of the day, in the dead heat of summer, or before 6 a.m. when the city is still quiet. Eight weeks in, I’ve dealt with most of the typical, and perhaps less typical, runner injuries and issues. I won’t get into all of these, but I will definitely say that training for the 2011 Chicago marathon has been an adventure and perhaps the biggest challenge I’ve undertaken in my 23 (almost 24!) years.

Speaking of my age, I turn 24 on August 14, and I will be ringing in the next year of my life with a 17 mile run. I hope to live to celebrate appropriately after!

Sam and Todd, I am looking forward to our highly anticipated sibling reunion in the city of our alma mater. In all honesty, thinking about my post race meal will probably get me through those 26.2 miles – any recommendations Chicago people? – and running with you guys of course!